Corvus Stone to releases its second album “Corvus Stone II” in September and Timo Rautiainen is the latest special guest on the album. Timo sings two songs on “Corvus Stone II”.

Timo Aulis Rautiainen (born 25 January 1963, in Sulkava, Finland) is a Finnish heavy metal singer, guitarist and songwriter. He is best known as the singer and songwriter of Timo Rautiainen & Trio Niskalaukaus. He has also sung in the bands Lyijykomppania and Aku Ankkuli.

He was graduated from the University of Jyväskylä as a teacher of special education – a quite uncommon profession for heavy metal musicians. In the early stages of Trio Niskalaukaus, Rautiainen was commonly represented in the main media as “The Grim Teacher”, because of his strong and rather gloomy lyrics and his occupation. However, in later years he concentrated solely on his musical career, resigning from his educational activities. Despite his earlier and solemn representation in Finnish media, Timo is actually a man with good sense of humour, and on stage he is characterized by his laid back nature.

In December 2004, Timo Rautiainen & Trio Niskalaukaus announced that they would be going on break for an indefinite period. While the band was on hiatus, Timo starred on Finnish talk-show ‘K-Rappu’, which concentrated on culture. On 1 November 2006, Trio Niskalaukaus announced that they would be breaking up. After the breakup of Trio Niskalaukaus, Timo Rautiainen published his first solo album titled Sarvivuori in 2006 with a crew gathered from different bands. The album featured the talents of e.g. Nightwish founder Tuomas Holopainen (who also wrote one song) and former Children of Bodom guitarist, Alexander Kuoppala. In the drums debuted renown Finnish actor Jussi Lampi.

Initially Timo was supposed to do only one solo album, but after the album’s good reception and the band’s highly successful summer tour he changed his mind, and in 2007 his second solo album, Loppuun ajettu, was released. The line-up changed a bit, and Jarkko Petosalmi, former Trio Niskalaukaus guitarist joined Timo’s solo band. The album went into the Finnish charts at #5 on its first week.

In 2010 Rautiainen released his third solo album “En oo keittäny enkä myyny” including guitar players Jarkko Petosalmi and Peter Engberg, drummer Jussi Lampi and Valtteri Tynkkynen (known previously as a bass player, backing singer and composer of the band YUP). In 2012 Rautiainen formed the band Timo Rautiainen & Neljäs Sektori and the debut album “Kunnes elämä meidät erottaa” was released.

In 2013 Rautiainen began interested in folk music and he’s started to perform folk gigs as a solo and also with other artists. Timo Rautiainen & Neljäs Sektori released its second studio album on 8th August, 2014 with singles “Synkkien puolue”, “Oma arkipyhä” and “Kaikki maailman aika” getting lots of radio airplay. The line-up included Peter Engberg (guitar), Jussi Nikula (drums), Jarkko Petosalmi (guitar), Timo Rautiainen (vocals, guitar)and Valtteri Tynkkynen (bass).

In 2014 Timo kindly approved to make a guest appearance on Corvus Stone’s new album “Corvus Stone II” and the rest is history. Timo sings two songs on that album. Interestingly enough both Petri Lemmy Lindström (Progeland, Corvus Stone) and Timo Rautiainen were previously members of Lyijykomppania. Corvus Stone musicians playing on the album: Colin Tench (guitar), Pasi Koivu (keyboards), Petri Lemmy Lindström (bass) and Robert Wolff (drums).

Further Information Can Be Found At:
Official Website:
Power of Prog:
Melodic Revolution Records:

Video “Scandinavians in Mexico”:
Sampler Video:

Album Pre-order:

Media Contact:
Colin Tench: