Sun King Rising – Delta Tales (First Pressing)

CD: $  10 Digital: $ 8

1. The Snake 03:38
2. Milkweed And Thistle 06:12
3. Down The Delta Road 03:20
4. In A State Of Grace 04:14
5. Take It Down 04:14
6. Beneath The Southern Sun 05:28
7. Evangeline In The Morning 03:16
8. Love Turns Grey 03:34
9. Drive Me To Nashville 04:02
10. Let There Be Light 05:25

A PeacockSunrise Records Release


Sun King Rising is a solo project by singer-songwriter John Blangero from Port Isabel, Texas. Steeped in the tradition of southern rock and country soul.

What the Critics Are Saying…

Don’t be fooled by the fact that “Delta Tales” is the Sun King Rising project’s debut album. Because behind this project is singer, musician, and songwriter John Blangero, a highly experienced man who has been in the music business for decades…
Rock Times

“He has that untamed quality in his voice that enables him to trek different soundscapes.” “These performances radiate confidence and adept songcraft.”
Daniel Pavlica – The Rocktoligist

“This is a thoroughly enjoyable album, full of memories and great songs, in the tradition of The Band and so many others. Classic rock and soul steeped in Americana, with great songs and vocals, this album is a sheer delight from the first strike of the snare drum to the organ fade out.” Kev Rowland – ReZonatZ

“This is a stomper and a raver that’s sure to take you back even if you weren’t there in the first place. Hot stuff.”
Midwest Records Entertainment

Soaring progressive-rock grandeur meets deeply soulful Southern rock at the crossroads of Delta Tales, where Sun King Rising’s John Blangero—a world-renowned genetic scientist—is waiting under an inviting big tent…
Elmore Magazine

“Profoundly resonating storytelling.”
“A complex, yet ultimately rewarding production.” “Showcase Blangero’s emotionally atmospheric vocals”. Russell Trunk’s Exclusive Magazine

“From the South with love and gospel: newly prominent proponent of Americana proclaims his appearance on the scene. Lures the listener in for a soulful refreshment…John’s honeyed pipes make the low tones of Evangeline in the Morning sound hymnal”
Dmitry M. Epstein – DMME