Odin’s Court


Short Bio

ODIN’S COURT is a Maryland, USA band that was formed by Matt Brookins in 2001. The band is best described as a mixture of metal, progressive, & rock, fusing classic and modern sounds that transcend several genres.

For the first 7 years the band was independent, self-financing 3 albums (2002 demo Odin’s Court, 2003 album Driven by Fate, and 2005 album ReDriven by Fate). In 2006 the band headlined the infamous Jaxx Nightclub near Washington DC, drawing an audience comparable to that of larger National acts that played at the venue. A DVD was filmed that night and later released under the title …Court is Now in Session.

In 2008, ODIN’S COURT signed with ProgRock Records and has since released 4 albums through PRR and their partner labels worldwide.

Deathanity (2008) is an ambitious concept album analyzing the macroscopic affects mankind’s actions have on the planet. In addition to a traditional rock configuration, this album utilizes saxophone, female backing vocals, interview clips, and sound effects to create a vast soundscape. Special guest vocalists include Tom Englund (Evergrey) and Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica).

Human Life in Motion (2011) is an album that is both introspective and personal, dealing with the human mind and experience. Although it is a concept album, the songs are more self-contained, shorter, and more “accessible” when compared to Deathanity. Press reaction to the album was positive, summarized as the band being “in top form and offering imaginative & entertaining melodic progressive rock often blended with crunchy metal.”

Appalachian Court (2012) is an organic album featuring previously released songs with completely new arrangements. The album features a wide range of traditional acoustic instruments including acoustic guitar, mandolin, piano, double bass, mountain dulcimer, banjo, harmonica, squaresaw dobro, and acoustic drums. The album creatively blends acoustic music with the band’s diverse sound in a way that seems both natural and exciting.

The Warmth of Mediocrity (2013) is the first album to feature LaFavors along with Brookins on lead vocals. The title track showcases a new and focused sound for the band, while the remaining tracks make the album an anthology, as these tracks are “reboots” of previously released songs that have been remixed, remastered, and in several cases, feature newly recorded vocals from LaFavors.

Turtles All the Way Down (2015) deals with ideas and questions relating to the entire universe – how did it start, where is it going, what makes it tick, what is its purpose, etc. – from the point of view of the individual’s mind. It deals with mankind’s quest for knowledge, and how that knowledge changes. New discoveries often change humanity’s understanding or turn perceptions upside down, sometimes making long held beliefs immaterial. The title refers to the idiom that references “infinite recursion” or in layman’s terms, “what came first: the chicken or the egg?”. The band returned to their independent roots, releasing this album through Brookins’ D2C Studios label.

ODIN’S COURT has been known to perform energetic live shows in the United States, primarily gigging on the east coast doing festivals, short tours, and one-off performances. The band has shared the stage with many classic and modern greats, including (but not limited too) Symphony X, Spock’s Beard, King’s X, Kamelot, Steve Whiteman (Kix, Funny Money), Sonata Arctica, Helloween, Jon Oliva’s Pain, Zero Hour, Crimson Glory, Circle II Circle, Devin Townsend, Circa, Enchant, and more

Band Members

Matt Brookins – Vocals, Guitar, Keyboard, Bass, Drums, Mandolin, Banjo, Harmonica, & Mountain Dulcimer
Rick Pierpont – Guitar & Backing Vocals
Dimetrius LaFavors – Vocals
Jason Pierpont – Bass Guitar
Gary Raub – Drums & Percussion


Lexington Park, MD


| WebsiteFacebook YouTubeLast FM | ReverbNation Twitter |

Style of Music

Rock, Metal, & Progressive


Press & Media
Matt Brookins
Nick Katona


Turtles All the Way Down: Volume II (2018)
Deathanityy (R3) (2016)
Turtles All the Way Down (2015)
The Warmth of Mediocrity (2013)
Appalachian Court (2012)
Human Life in Motion (2011)
Deathanity (2008)
Driven By Faith (2003)

Latest Release




Posted on