Forever Twelve – Spark of Light

CD: $14 Digital: $10

Recommended if you like Maze of Time, Aquaplanage, Emperor Stan, Slychosis and Vienna Circle


This is their second album “Spark of Light,” which filled with compelling compositions rooted in a classic 70s’ symphonic sound. The retro sound is achieved not only through the ample use of vintage keyboards (especially Mellotron and mini-Moog), but in the songs and arrangements, which are all but textbook examples of the classic symphonic sound with their suite-like structures, classical-influenced piano melodies, and regular juxtapositions of gentle, acoustic passages with aggressive electrified parts. Fans of old-school symphonic and female vocals should really dig “Spark of Light.”

Kenny Hundt (Bass) and Steve Barberic (Keyboards) met in 1993. Fernando Martinez (Drums) joined the group in 1998, Cat Ellen (Vocals and Flute) joined in 1999, and in 2000 Tom Graham (Guitars) joined. They recorded their first CD, Remembrance Branch, in 2001 and released it in 2002. The second CD, Spark of Light, was recorded in 2003 and released in 2004.

Forever Twelve is a five-piece progressive rock band based in Los Angeles, California. Their symphonic progressive sound includes gorgeous female lead vocals, vintage keyboards, both electric and acoustic guitars, electric bass, and complex drums and percussion. They’ve performed at Baja Prog 2004 in Mexicali, Mexico, and around the southern California area. Forever Twelve’s music contains elements of jazz, folk, rock, fusion, neo-prog, classical, and pop all serving a musical purpose to express a certain mood or idea.