Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella – The Rainbow Tree

CD: $ 18

1. Free Hand – Medley (Gentle Giant) 05:17
2. Song For America (Kansas) 09:27
3. Something Happened On The Way To Heaven (Phil Collins) 04:47
4. Rainbow Demon (Uriah Heep) 04:08
5. Alleviate (Leprous) 04:09
6. Teardrop (Massive Attack) 03:00
7. A Love That Never Dies (Neal Morse Band) 05:21
8. Secret World (Peter Gabriel) 06:59
9. Tom Sawyer (Rush) 04:28
10. Blackest Eyes / The Sound Of Muzak / Halo (Porcupine Tree) 06:00
11. Hallowed Be Thy Name / For The Greater Good Of God (Iron Maiden) 08:47
12. Noise (Nightwish) 04:35
13. Ghost Of Perdition (Opeth) 07:21
14. Siúil A Rúin (Traditional/Clannad) 03:24


The Rainbow Tree is the 4th cover album released by the German Acoustic Duo Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella. Their unique acoustic interpretations of Progressive Rock and Metal classics have gathered much international attention to Melanie and Martin and their co-musicians Lars Lehmann (bass), Mathias Ruck (vocals) and Simon Schröder (percussion) during the last few years. The Rainbow Tree continues this musical journey with completely different acoustic arrangements of Prog Classics by Kansas, Gentle Giant, Rush, Porcupine Tree, Peter Gabriel, and many more.

Melanie Mau & Martin Schnella give these songs their own personal note, focusing on 3-part vocal harmonies, fine and also powerful acoustic guitars together with their passion for Celtic sounds. The latter is highlighted by the contribution of their longtime co-musicians and friends Jens Kommnick and Rolf Wagels.

Because of their shows at ProgStock Festival in New Jersey in 2019 and 2022, the collaboration with other
musicians of the international Progressive Rock scene grew. So the idea was born to record an acoustic
version of the Kansas classic „Song For America“ together with Rachel Flowers, Dave Meros (Spock’s
Beard, Pattern Seeking Animals) and Dennis Atlas (Pattern Seeking Animals).